This is what sponsorship is…

Standard
DR6330217-Fullshot-200w by amandapandatheblog

I received a letter the other day from my sweet Eridania, the little girl I sponsor in the Dominican Republic. I have visited her once since living in the Dominican Republic, but several times before that when I was on vacation here.

Her letter simply read, “When you come, I feel happy because you are by my side.”

Wow. That makes me feel happy.

It also underlines what sponsoring a child is all about. It is not about the financial gift, although that is helpful. It is about walking by someone’s side. Isn’t that what Christ does for us? And isn’t that after all the best gift we have to give anyone?

Happy tenth birthday to my lovely Eridania, and I hope to be at your side soon again!

One response »

Leave a comment